Flight Line
We put the "O" in AOT

2005-09-04 :: buried in quizzes ::

So I did not exactly do what I planned yesterday- being that I planned to study and take my first group of general quiz questions. I did study yesterday, but when I checked my school email- I got a job posting from the Advising Center stating that TIMCO is direct hiring for A&P mechanics in Goodyear =) So yesterday I wrote my professional letter of interest and redesigned my resume. I did take those quizzes today. It wasn't what I had originally expected! I thought it was going to be 10 question like the quiz we took on CFR 14 Ch 65 (which I got 100% on!) Instead the three quizzes I took were all 50 random questions out of the 102 that I had been studying- so yes there were probably questions that appeared on all three tests, but that is okay! So on the three I took today, I got 48, 47, and 48 (mind you thats out of 50 questions!) There was one question I got on the second two tests that I knew the answer but I read the question wrong both times, grr. So now on to studying the next group of question 103-218 for my next three quizzes.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-09-03 :: movies, football -no no I mean Homework!! ::

So I think the TV has it in for me. Why else would they put Back to the Future I, II, and III on consecutively??? Not only that, there is college football galore on today. I believe Mich St, Ohio, ans Wisconsin have already won and Illini are currently in OT. Go Big Ten! Ah, Illini TD and they win. So I'm getting my football dose from tv now. I will will miss gameday on the grid-iron. Anyhow, back to the TV being against me... I'm trying to study for my A&P gemeral quizzes. I need to be familiar with 102 questions for the first 3 quizzes. I've gotten through 67 so far. It takes a bit longer to go through electrical schematics and do the math for watts, amps, volts, resistance, impedence, and capacitance. I really want to understnad this general stuff. The norm for most students is to get 10% lower score when the take the real test compared to the class test score. You have to get a 70% to pass by FAA standards, but in class you must get a 86% or higher to pass. On the quizzes you must get 50% and above on all of them, and with only 10 questions per quiz you better be well prepared because the questions are selected at random.

Hm, I just found the Northern IL Univ vs Michigan. Do I cheer for the Big Ten or cheer against the most hated team in the big ten? Plus the Huskies are pretty cool, they did well the last few years.

Well back to some landing gear wiring schematics =P Wish me luck.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-09-01 :: Labs and Homework ::

Well, second week of school is nearly over. The lab I am assisting with seems like it will be a lot of fun- probably because the teacher is cool. Most of the students seem competent. Unlike Lorraine's labs where she thinks only one student actually knows what he is doing. Everyone one in my lab has now had experience jacking up an aircraft, though it took one group three tries to get it level. I have one more class at 430 then I have to go home a by some miracle start and finish an assignment due tomorrow for my 375 Avionics Troubleshooting class. That's my only priority assignment for tomorrow thats not done. Then this weekend I am going to lock myself inside and punch out 10 Quizzes that are assigned on line. Busy busy, and next week's plate doesnt seem to be any less active even though we have off Monday.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-08-31 :: First day back at work ::

I started working for the school dist again today, finally. There was no real defining point that said yes we are hiring you back again. I just had a random call Saturday morning at 6am asking if I would come pick up trash from the football game. Well, Saturday I turn off my phone and sleep in so I didn't get the message. I went in Monday and I signed some paperwork and was told to report to work on Wednesday. I got another call today while I was in class this morning (so my phone was off) saying that I should report directly to Cumberland Elementary School and clock in over there. I checked my messages just as I turned onto the road to the maintenance building. All I know is I'm waiting on some mulch to be delivered for the playground. So I'm thinking 10 bags from the Ace Hardware, noo it's a semi full of mulch. I worked from 9am to 1230 and I moved about 1260 cu ft of mulch. I stopped 30 minutes early because the day was hot, and since it was hot I wore shorts and I thought it would look dumb to wear boots and shorts together so I wore my tennis shoes instead of my steal toe boots. Yep, I slammed the wheelbarrow pivot point down on my toe when I was dumping the mulch. ooouch. The shoes didnt help either... not much support for all the walking I was doing- my ankles are sore.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-08-30 :: what am I doing ::

Hm.. what have I been doing? I went to a jazz and blues festival down town in Lafayette I believe it was Saturday night. Nice small venue of three stages, but good music. Sunday I went to Lorraine's flight instructor's barbeque- first time I have eaten barbeque, but it wasn't that nasty stuff from a bottle you buy at the store. School is going well. I have a lot to keep me busy. Small assignments here and there, one class has about 3-4 small tests a week in it. Mondays are probably my longest day anyway. So today I had turbine lab and we got to run a F-109 Turbofan Engine It's from a military trainer jet. Any way that was cool and noisy. I am finally supposed to be getting my computer this next Monday. Thanks Mom! I'll really need it next week too. So, I'm off to my 402 class to talk about my A&P test stuff...

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-08-27 :: internet and no computer ::

So we have cable and internet at the house, but computer still isn't fixed. I talked to my mom last night and fry's had told her they believe it's the processor and possibly the memory card. Wow, can you believe this. We turned my mom's computer in to get fixed. We told them we think the motherboard was bad. Amazing when they called her back and told her they had replaced her motherboard (a week later). Then with my computer, we turn it in and said we think it's the processor chip, and low and behold a week later they tell me they think it's the processor. Maybe I should get a frickin' job at fry's or something, man. I stayed in bed until 1030 this morning. First week I guess was more tiring than I thought. I was up intime to watch the pre-season college football on ESPN. The talking head choices for the BIGTEN are 2 for Ohio, 1 for Michigan, and 1 for Purdue. Ironically, Purdue plays neither Ohio or Michigan this year... Our team however is going to travel to Hawaii at the end of the season to be playing a football game. Anyhow, I'm in the midst of a 400 assignment regarding a self assestment excercise so I can learn what skills and qualities I have. I had to think of two dozen examples of things I have done that were positive experiences and things that I'm proud about what I did, and write out the top seven in a detailed manner so as if I were telling a class of first graders. Then go through 10 some charts at choose qualities and personalities I demonstrated in the top seven stories. Thats where I sit at the moment but I am only through 3 of 11 pages of the assignment. Thank goodness it's not due until Friday.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-08-26 :: Friday Finally! ::

Talked to my mom about my computer again... It's still not working. My mom took it to Fry's in the 18th. She said one guy they had working on it could not get it to power up, and he has now given up- haha. So now I guess the boss is looking into it. He's going to take all of the components out and run them with out the case/power supply. We shall see. Like I said before my processor chip didn't work when I put it in my mom's working computer... Who knows if they have even checked that yet. Internet is supposed to be set up this afternoon, and Lorraine said I can use her lap top if I need it. So I can atleast take my 10 some tests for my airmen class at the apt and check my homework assignments... I'm lucky I remembered to check my MET schedule... I have an assignment due Mon. My first homework assignment of the semester is actually due today at 230. Then I have like 4 due for Monday, sigh. Gotta head off to class now.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-08-26 :: To the Neon Cactus ::

I got out of the apt last night and went to the Neon Cactus for the first time since I've been at Purdue. ((Neon Cactus= very popular bar for college kids to hang out at with a piano bar.))
The big thing about the cactus is you can buy a huge cup for $1.75 and then drinks are cheaper 10 cent draft and 1.50 well drinks. So me, Lorraine, Kitty, and Jim went to the cactus- gots our drinks- and proceeded to wait in line inside the bar to get into the piano bar. I saw a lot of x-bandos inside- go figure. Anyhow an hour later or so I think we finally got in the piano bar. After dealing with some drunk B****es, heh. So inside theres the piano dude and a bass player. Cool ya know they're talented musician with the talent to entertain, but its a bunch of drunk people singing/screaming to "the cool songs of the ages" Like Piano Man- big stretch there I know. The selection of country he chose was poor. The only 2 songs I sang along to where Courtesy of the Red White and Blue- and the Purdue Fight Song. When I go out for the night I dont want to stand in one place and keep standing... And I got urked even more because you can't go one minute without being pushed or shoved or having someone stick their drink in your face because they want to slide by and stand in front of you. Hello! I'm short would the 6'6" guy please go stand somewhere else. The piano man made fun of the people sitting next door at Buffalo Wild Wings "sipping their quiet beers" but ya know what I'd rather be watching sports or playing trivia than watching the mindless entertainment happening in the piano bar. I am proud to say that I was the only girl not wearing some form of halter top/clevage shirt... Ha, I wore my Bears jersey.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-08-24 :: Mid week ::

Ok, so I believe my computer to be shipped out on Thursday, and cable is being hooked up Friday. Things shall be some what back to normal then next week. I went to my first MET141 lecture. Boy, was that a trip back to HS chemistry-- Remembering back to the days of atoms and whatnot. Prof Corum seems to be a very interesting teacher. I like the style they do class notes now. Instead of power points and premade over heads that teachers can fly right through... she instead writes everything down on a sheet that projects onto the screen. And then she has written proof of exactly what she showed the class. On the other had,I was sceduled for Mon 330pm lab. Which I have obviously missed since I signed up for the class Tuesday. I emailed her and she said I should be able to make it up next week. Tomorrow I start my first TA (teacher assistant) position. For the 267 (fixed wing and rotary assembly) Lab. Exciting- gonna go get dinner now before my welding class...

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-08-23 :: Start of School ::

Man, I finally got my 308 class conflict resolved... I'm not taking it, haha. Instead the dept head enrolled me in a MET (Mechanical Engineering Technology) class. It some sort of materials science class- which i think is a freshman engineering course. Anyway, I still wont have working internet at my apt until Thursday. And I wont be able to post pictures of my apt until I get my computer back. I havent heard anything new on that matter yet. I will say though I really like this apt its nice and cool and just on the other side of the river so i dont have to deal with campus traffic or people walking across the street. I started welding again last night. We discussed trying to make a gas tank, haha. Sterkenburg thought we could make it and then he would buy himself a bike to put it on. We shall see. Lorraine and I are still just learning the basic coordination of the whole process. Well, I should head back upstairs for my next class. Check back again soon.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-08-16 :: computer poltergeist ::

So it turns out it isn't the motherboard that is the problem. Even after going to return it for the correct processor type (heh). So last chance idea was to put my computers processor into my mom's (working) computer. As it turns out, nothing happened- like on mine. So we put her chip back in and started up her computer, which it did start up but then froze, um oops. Turns out I didn't break it though. We think a cd in one of the drives may have gotten jammed when I put her computer on it's side. And during run up when it checked the disc and cd drive, it froze when it couldnt read the cd drive. So we pulled the power to the cd drive and it started up fine. Phew. So anyway, my mom is going to take my computer to Fry's Electronics after she drops me off at the airport and have them look at it... which may take up to a week- ugh. So no computer for me after tonight.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

2005-08-13 :: 3 days and counting ::

So here I am, waiting around to go out for pizza. I'm heading back to Indiana in 3 days- crayzee. I got an email from the AV TECH dept head. A senior in Flight was killed in Northern IN during a flight lesson he was giving due to engine failure =/ YIKES, this is when it can be scary to be a mechanic. Well, I'm not really sure if my computer will be up and running by the time I get back to Indiana, I bought a new mother board- so hopefully thats the fix =) heh, well I will hopefully keep this updated better than last year...

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

:: Back :: Forward ::