Flight Line
We put the "O" in AOT

Tuesday, Sept. 20, 2005 :: YEEEAAAAA! ::

We got the turbines quiz back today in class- the one that surprised us all with questions other than just the calculation like we were told. I got a 73%, sigh. I plan on studying very hard for the test Thursday. On a brighter note, the "real" general test was today. The test I have been taking tests for the last four weeks. We are required to get an 86% just to pass it. I just took it. We're allotted 50 minutes for 50 questions. I took 25 minutes. Do you think I'm trying to avoid something? Na, of course not. I'm more worried about the next thiry quizzes I have to take on Airframes than I am on my general test grade CUZ I GOT A 100% *jumps for joy* (grin) Anyway, I'm happy with today
1. new computer
2. 100% on my gen test
3. starting to disassemble a F-109 turbine engine (fun fun)
4. Tentatively assigned to Prof Thom for my A&P test (teacher who I assist in lab)

Music in the background: Jamie O'Neil -- Somebody's Hero
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Tuesday, Sept. 20, 2005 :: Moment past ::

Hello, from my new computer =) It's amazing how fast a working computer can actually work! So I forgot to mention something that happened yesterday. I decided I am going to make a sign to keep with me in my car for key moments. Yesterday when I was driving to my MET lab, I was driving across the bridge over to campus and I got stopped at the light right before the hill up to campus. I noticed a car with someone who (talking on his cell phone) had stopped three car lengths behind the first car in the left lane (I was in the right) and I drove past them up to the car infront of me and stopped. They then pulled in behind me, not all the way, so they were blocking both lanes of traffic (which both go straight through the intersection mind you.) Behind them was a wide load trailer that didn't have any cargo. The driver behind me (and infront of the trailer) honks at me a few times. When I finally look back, they are motioning me (by doing a pushing motion with their right hand because they are still talking on their cell) to move forward more. Now, hello I am not the one blocking the lanes, and perhaps if you had paid attention to where you were going and maybe planned ahead, you might have just been in the right lane to begin with. So hence my new driving companion:

Music in the background: Gary Allan- Best I Ever Had
Stress level of the Day: 5/10

Monday, Sept. 19, 2005 :: alcohol and icecream ::

So even after a slightly unprotective avoinics lab, I still had to go to lecture. It was boring, we started learning about the ARINC 629. The bi-directional data bus. After that it was off to MET lab where we were testing metal hardness. The two specimens were steel and hardened aluminum (but they didn't have any) so we just tested good ole 6106-T6. There were 6 tests with two types of testers. Given the weight and the indenter size and shape we were supposed to figure out whether the aluminum or steel were to be tested on that aparatus. The lab assistant gave an example on each of the too testers and then said we were on our own to figure it out. So at times it got discouraging. I held out to the end of lab though and headed back to my car to drive to welding. I got out side and it was simi sprinkling and there were storm clouds over head. By the time I was two blocks from my car the sky was definitely letting the rain pour out. I was quite soaked by the time I got to my car. When I got to the sheet metal lab, Lorraine wasn't there yet and I didnt know where the metal for welding was, so I sat down and read my book for ahile. When Lorraine got there we used the sand belt to clean up the sharp edges. Somehow my sand belt got off track on the roller and started sliding to the right and shredding bits off. The teacher came over and started heckling me about it saying I broke it. I played along saying it did it itself. And he was like you need to fix it and I said I didn't know how. He didn't stop though, I was done playing around and he keep prodding- To the point where I needed to walk away. I didn't do that well on the pipe welding either. I couldn't get a good sized puddle to form... the metal was just too thick for a #2 weld tip. Lorraine got a #3 and was doing pretty well. Then again she always does good. Then the teacher came around again while I was cleaning up at 8 and was like we go to 9- for 6 hours of welding a week. I pointed out that we had been stopping at 8 all along. And so he carried that crap out for awhile. I got quite stressed. And then he gave me crap for not getting his piece of coffeecake that I made. Lorraine cut him off and said that it was her fault because she ate it. So I said I would drive out to the store in the storm after I leave and go get the eggs, frosting, and vanilla extract and make it tonight so he can have it fresh tomorrow. I hope when he does get it he feels like an ass. So yes, I did go grocery shopping, and I picked up a few extra things too. I got home and Lorraine wasn't here and I was kinda disappointed because I wanted to brag about what I got. She got in about 5 minutes after me. So I told her "I have alcohol and Icecream! The night is still salvagable!". Lorraine and I both had a Zima and an icecream cone and watched a movie.

Music in the background: just finished watch Resident Evil 2
Stress level of the Day: 7/10

Monday, Sept. 19, 2005 :: killin time and brain cells ::

oh geez is it only monday? Lab dragged out so today. I guess that's the norm response for the electronics lab. I was working with static inverters (DC to AC power). You use a potentiometers to up the voltage to the mock-up, but my potentiometer decided it didnt want to turn any farther than 92.5 Vac and I need 115 Vac. So I'm going to have to deal with that on down the line. There is a statement in the lab book that you are supposed to take your time because mistakes now will haunt you down the line. Well, this isn't my mistake I even had a lab TA look at it and he made a note in my book that the potentiometer could not be turned farther. Now, I'm just sitting in the computer lab again killing time before electronics lecture. There are two people people in here from my 403 class (the class that I have been taken so many quizzes in). You must have all the quizzes done by tomorrow afternoon before you can take the test tomorrow. At the moment, they both have 2 quizzes done. hahaha. They dont have much time to study the 100-150 questions before taking each quiz. I laugh at them. I was done Saturday afternoon. I remember talking to one of them in class two weeks ago when we were reminded to get the quizzes done(because we didnt have class last week). I told him that I had 9 quizzes done already. He replied with I have 2 weeks, that's no problem. Now, here he is in the computer lab scrambling to finish 13 more quizzes in 24 hours. **muffles her giggles from down the isle** The scary thing is that this set for the general test is 15 quizzes- for airframe and for powerplant there are 30 quizzes for each. *gasp* These quizzes are to prep us for the test we take in class which in turn preps us for the real written test we will have to take for our A&P license (at $75 a pop!)
Exerpt from song I'm listening to:
He�s on the dance floor yelling Freebird
Singing off pitch but he knows every word
Grabs him a girl and he holds on tight
He�s chasing everything in sight
He�ll fall apart when he gets home
But right now his worries are gone
Life looks good, good, good
Billy�s got his beer goggles on

Music in the background: Neal McCoy- Beer Goggles
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Monday, Sept. 19, 2005 :: Class preparation, hmm ::

I'm sitting in the computer lab printing off info for my MET lab this afternoon. Why is the computer lab warmer and more stagnent than the hallway. COmputer labs are supposed to be kept cool and dry for the electronics. Anyway I thought I needed to practice something on the computer for my lab today but it turns out I only need to go to the library for some reference materials. Now that I read through the lab (like I was intending to last night I think I may need my multimeter too, shit. Gotta run!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 6/10

Sunday, Sept. 18, 2005 :: At the end of the night ::

I just checked on my computer, it has been picked up and the expected delivery date is Tuesday, woohoo! I am excited. I turned on cops. They called to an apt building where a woman was threatening suicide and she had left the first time the cops came and the second time they came she was still there talking to someone. See then drives forward and rammed the cop car. They attempt to pull her out of the van and she tries to take a slice at a cop. A cop on the other side is trying to grab the knife from her. As she is pulled out of the van she takes two more slices at a cop. The cop that originally tried to grab the knife then comes from behind and tackles the woman who then impales herself on her knife. She is in stable condition and will be released from the hospital in a week... hopefully she will get help. When the cops got there she said she didn't trust them and that they lied to her. Where she got that from would be nice to know. They just arrived on the scene. Anyway I have a 730 class in the morning I guess I'll go get some sleep. Night all.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 2/10

Sunday, Sept. 18, 2005 :: We win ::

WooHoo! Bears win 38-6 yay Orton
Bear down, Chicago Bears,
Make every play clear the way to victory.
Bear down, Chicago Bears,
Put up a fight with a might so fearlessly.
We'll never forget the way you thrilled the nation,
With your T-formation.
Bear down, Chicago Bears,
And let them know why you're wearing the crown.
You're the pride and joy of Illinois,
Chicago Bears, bear down.

Music in the background: bears fight song
Stress level of the Day: 2/10

2005-09-18 :: Nice New things ::

When my mom called last night to tell me about her friend, I asked if she had read her email reguarding my computer. I sent it like two days ago. She said she hadn't read it yet. So I told her about my newest computer problem. She told me to send it back to her and she'll take it bake to Fry's and have them look at it again. Then she stopped and thought about that because that means she would just have to pay more money to fix it, and since I have a new computer on the way, what's the point. So she said send back your tower and DVD rom because she wanted them.
And Brett called last night too after he got back from Movin' Out. He said the computer is already built/tested and ready to be shipped. So I should have my new computer by the end of the week. Yea! I'll just have to put my A drive in and add in my memory so I'll have 1024 hahaha. What am I gonna do with 80 gigs? Heh, a lot I suppose =) Plus, I'm keeping my old 20 gig hard drive... so 100 gig, lol it's so ridiculous, but it will be fun trying to use it all.

Music in the background: TV
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

2005-09-17 :: Saturday schoolwork ::

I woke up and rolled over many times this morning but still managed to stay in bed until 1030. At the moment I feel quite good though. I accomplished a lot today. I organized my homework by day (ie what was due Mon, Tues, etc.) and also by the time of the class. So first thing checked off was 375 HW for Monday afternoon and then 141 lab assignment. On to Tuesday, I finished my 3 remaining quizzes (48, 49, and 50). I also retook two quizzes which I had 47s on and got a 50 and 49. The quiz questions are randomly selected so I didnt get the exact smae questions as last time. Then 375s HW for Wednesday. I started 400 HW for Friday and filled out as much as I could. Now I need to go to the management library to review fiscal whatchamacallits. So I figured cool I can find time during the week- then I thought hm... I wonder if they are open on the weekends. So I checked the library hours schedules, sure enough they are open 11am-11pm Sunday. So I'll jolly on over there after the Bears game tomorrow. Are you curious as to why I wondered if the library was open on the weekend? LOOK HERE. Note the only library that is not open on the weekends. whiskey tango foxtrot!?
So yes I'll go to the library tomorrow and get things done. So that actually leave me with no homework for the whole week. Looking quite a bit ahead, there is a 141 assignment due on the 26th I could start working on. Actually, I may just chill and review for my General test on Tuesday that I must get a 86% first try, and I have a turbines exam on Thursday, so they should keep me busy.
On a sad note, my mom called and said that her best friend's father died today. My grandparents have been friends with them as long as I can remember. My mom and her friend have actually been friends since they were in 7th grade. Thats over a 40 year friendship. Thats amazing. So my thoughts are with their family tonight.
The Purdue vs Arizona game should be starting up pretty quickly here, so I'm off to watch the game.

Music in the background: No Doubt- Hey Baby (ring tone)
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

2005-09-16 :: More of my day ::

It was cool today for the first time in a long time. When I got to work after my 830 class it was a cool 62 degrees and quite misty and I was out in tshirt and shorts driving around on a little 4 wheel gator picking up after the messy high schoolers.
I got another assignment in 400; the teacher said this should be the last. Then we're going to have mock interviews in a week that we have to dress up for- guess I have to go shopping now, grr. And of course we got 2 more assignments for the ARINC data bus decoding binary and octal. I have ten pages left in my book, I will definitely finish that tonight and start reading Evolution.
Lorraine flew out this evening heading back home to NJ, she said she will probably be back Sunday early afternoon. college football tomorrow, purdue plays Univ of Ariz. Hopefully it will be show locally this time.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

2005-09-16 :: Too Long ::

I'm in lab, shh don't tell anyone, ha. We're going through the 737 B checklist to see what we can and cannot do in lab. Most of my section we cannot do because we do not have the chapters in the maintenance manual to follow. Oh well Im cold and I want to go home.
** At work I picked up the soccer field and planted mums at Cumberland. Late in the season yes, tell my boss that. The school nurse was actually the one who told me where they wanted the mums burried. She asked if I was a horticulturist or something like that in school. And I said, aah no I'm an airplane mechanic. Why does everyone think that is so amazing. Nursing school isn't any easier Im sure. At one point I got so bored I carved irrigation lines from the spicket to the plants to water them. I wanna go home...

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

:: Back :: Forward ::