Flight Line
We put the "O" in AOT

Wednesday, Nov. 23, 2005 :: no more wasted time ::

ha, i just finished watching 9 episodes of Scrubs in a row- weee. Very funny. You know I need to figure out when it airs on TV... Law and Order SVU is on right after it, hehehe. Well, tomorrow starts my no wasting time on comedy shows and movies- aka time to start studying my 3 books for my A&P test... Pay no attention to the girl behind the screen... lol whatever good night all

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2005 :: I Feel Special ::

I went back to the Mesa Airlines web page to browse through their present job postings. Even though John May said they weren't hiring in Phoenix anymore, there is still job postings on their page. Maybe he just really wants me to come work for him in SC, lol. Anyhow, I went to airlineapps.com to see if anything had changed on my blocked status. Guess what, they now have an option for "A&P Mechanics - Certification Pending" for those currently attending a A&P Training School and want to apply prior to graduation. Ha, *raises hand* that's me. And I am no longer blocked from applying for the A&P positions. The pending job posting had a few page errors that inhibits me from posting, so I sent an email to the tech team and hopefully it will be fixed soon. How cool though, all because of me =)

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2005 :: cooooold ::

It's a cold day- the kind of cold that makes your bones hurt. And I had to stand outside in it for 3 hours while we ran the F109- not cool. So now I'm in my room with the cieling fan off and in my shoes, jeans, sweatshirt and still wrapped up in a blanket trying to recover my warmth. So yes the ebgine run. I got to connect the fuel lines, so fun. A couple people checked the oil level, for atleast a little indication of oil. For those who don't normally work on turbine engines... you cannot check the oil like you do in a car. Oil in a turbine engine can still be in different parts of the engine, so you have to run it up first then take a reading. So they looked and there wasn't even enough oil to get a reading, so they added some. The professor and lab assistant started to run up the engine watching for transient EGT (exhuast gas temperture) peaks. Then we started to run it up towards 100%. Today was a cold, dry day so the engine was sucking in a lot of air mass. I think our N2 speed was around 41000 rpm. Anyhow, there is a camera so you can watch the engine while it is running in the test cell. One of the other students in the engine monitoring room noticed a fluid leaking under the engine. Suspecting it was fuel, we shut the engine down immediately. When the engine had finished spooling down we went out for a look. No, it wasn't fuel, it was turbine oil. The guys that had added oil earlier had not put the oil cap back on tightly. Turbine engines will keep running an spewing out the oil until it seizes... so that could have been baaaad. LOL. Everything was fine on the second run. I have lecture in an hour and then I will be hitting the 402 quizzes for the LAST TIME, weeeeee!
flurries expected for today and tomorrow

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2005 :: show me the money ::

I don't know how companies expect people to be able to relocate on the pay rates they are offering. I don't want to be cocky, but I have a bachelors degree and an A&P certificate. That should amount to a good pay rate. Instead we're offered 13.50 and 11.15. I made 12.00/hr as a temp for Wells Fargo that required no degree for goodness sake. Yes, I know factor in the insurance I will get aswell., but how about I factor in my out-of-state school loans that have been piling up for the last 3.5 years... I have nearly double in school loans what they are offering for a years pay. Then I have to pay for housing, amenity bills, gasoline, and food all on my own. Sorry, that's not going to happen for 11.15/hr. I'm wondering what kind of pay JSSI wil offer since they are a private business.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Monday, Nov. 21, 2005 :: good and bad news ::

Mesa called me today while I was in class. John May said that Mesa is relocating a lot of their planes to the east so Phoenix isn't hiring right now, but if I was interested in working in the East (NC or SC) that jobs are readily available. So it's not that I don't have the oppurtunity for jobs... I just don't have the luck to find it in the area I prefer. JSSI called me back about 10 minutes ago. I'm scheduled for an interview Thursday December 1 (in Chicago). I haven't heard from TIMCO lately... it's strange. I did contact the Recruiter at Goodyear regarding the required tool list, so maybe they figured that as a "I want the job"..? Anyway I'm going to have some pizza and finish writing out my application for Adam Aircraft.

I'm trying to think of a "final project" to make in my welding class... something I can keep- put on a shelf and say- yup I made it. Any ideas anyone? I'm gonna TIG welding it, so it can be aluminum or steel.

Music in the background: none 3/10
Stress level of the Day:

Monday, Nov. 21, 2005 :: going to bed ::

the law and order "marathon" was lame... four hours is not a marathon. Two episodes I had already seen, and then it started repeating over again at midnight, so I switched over to TNT. It was playing what dreams may come starring Robin Williams. I remember watching the movie when it first came out. I think I was probably around 16 or 17... Ha, I'm good, IMDB.com said the movie came out in 1998, I was 17. I can recall not really understaning the movie and all I can remember now is the part where he is standing in the painting. Maybe I will make a second attempt and watch the movie again- try to understand it's meaning... don't ruin it for me =P I need to figure it out for myself!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Sunday, Nov. 20, 2005 :: Another Interview! ::

woooohoooo!

At the job fair on November 3, I talked to a company called JSSI. They mainly deal with scheduling maintenance and timely repairs to reduce operating costs. This covers engines and airframe. Anyhow, the representative said they were not hiring at that moment, but she said she would take my resume back with her to Chicago. Well, I just got an email from the Director of Technical Services. He wants to interview me. AAHH! How cool is that?!
hhmm, how to respond... email: Oh yes, I am very interested in interviewing with your company <*GRIN*> I should probably call. It would be more efficient and easy to set up a meeting time, and ironically, I'm going to Chicago this weekend!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 2/10

Sunday, Nov. 20, 2005 :: Sunday is a day of work ::

I've been watching Family Guy while trying to fall asleep at night. Usually it does work. Just that little bit of background noise is enough. Last night though, my computer well rather my modem decided it wanted to fuck around with my computer and shut it down by causing an error. This has been happening since I got the computer, but last night it did that twice while I was watching Family Guy. So I finally mustered up the motivation to open up the tower and rip the modem from it's safe and happy home (I don't need the phone line modem anyway). Now it's hung up by one of its capacitors above where it used to call home and where they dog can take nipping jumps at it.
I had my day all planned out to get my homework finished up today. I already got more resumes printed along with my cover letter and application for Adam Aircraft, and I have gone grocery shopping. Now I have 2 sets of quizzed left, ch 7 analysis questions, and the 375 lab for 747 power. Then I come to find out that there is a law and order marathon today! Oh how the television corporation plots against me, lol. Hope all is having a good weekend

Music in the background: think clearly- jack johnson
Stress level of the Day: 5/10

Friday, Nov. 18, 2005 :: is it over yet... oh, ok good ::

I made it to Friday- it's unbelieveable. Around Wednesday I felt it would never end. Two tests made for a long week. All the studying for my turines quiz didn't do much good... I got a 76%, grr. though most scores ranged from 64-84... so I guess I above the average, but with no curve and a shortened grading scale, a 76% is a D. The damn lubrication systems is what killed me on the test. Guess I will need to look over it better before the final. I emailed my MET group thursday about our project. only one has answered and in true freshman undecided form. "I don't care what material we use as long as we can find enough info for the presentation"... hello it's called the internet. Nothing I can get my hands on is that secretive, lol. So even though the weekend is here, it won't really be R&R time. I have a jolly list of things to get done. Mainy my powerplant quizzes- which I have 12 still waiting to be taken. Then I will battle with the 747 power simulator lab and rewrite it so it makes sense. And then there's 375 Homework to be done. And some well planned ahead homework assignments to lessen the load for after break. My wonderful mother has bought my ticket to fly back to Arizona for the last time. I'm leaving the cold, boring state of Indiana on December 19 at 320pm EST. Hopefully to go straight to work after the holidays. Time is ticking away quickly, 30 days now... I added a few more fun quizzes to the last entry if you find them amusing it couldn't hurt to go back and look- if it's not your cup of tea, then have a good night!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

:: Back :: Forward ::