Flight Line
We put the "O" in AOT

2005-09-08 :: Ready for the weekend ::

Did I mention that I paid $42.20 to fill my gas tank last night?! It's rediculous; that's two weeks of groceries! I took the quiz in my turbines II class, if you call it a quiz- it was 40 questions and not multiple choice. And now we have 2 more quizzes and a test coming up this month, sigh. Then 402 was, ugh, horrible. We have one of those kids in class who likes to think he knows everything so he likes to ask fully detailed questions... We had a representative from Boeing in class today. He was just supposed to be observing but nooo. Dude has to go and ask the teacher if he can ask him a question. Ok, a question is usually one sentence maybe two. No not green, he has to explain he random thoughts before ha can ask a question. Paraphrasing, he asked about the 737 and 777 wanted to know if you could make either one more versitile to fit into the other's role. Now my question actually has a clear decisive point, but dude's question rambled on for 5 minutes. He actually ended up talking for the whole 40 minutes we had left of class. And his comment was frivolous because Beoing is building the 787. It will serve both transcontinental and international. It's beefy like the 777 but more streamlined like the 737. Anyway, the teacher will be in Washington tomorrow so no lab... woohoo! I need time to get to the lab and do a prelab for monday anyway. I guess things are starting to settle in. Though I do not have much down time other than when I sleep. I did have a good two hours to just lay in bed and read last night. I needed that Wednesday though. Lorraine and I got some chinese food for dinner tonight. Good left overs for lunch tomorrow. Now I'm just sitting around watching Braum Stokers Dracula.

Music in the background: none -- movie
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

2005-09-08 :: Two class Thursday ::

The lab I assist with was cancelled today due to the professor not being able to reschedule some interview he had to attend. No biggie for me =) I can home, checked email, and made a few banners for this site, haha. Right now I have a pizza in the oven for lunch. It finally rained over night. We definitely needed the cool down. It's not even muggy out which is very nice. I'll probably spend the next hour reviewing for a turbines quiz I have at 1330 today, so I'm going to go out to the livingroom to study. Otherwise, this computer will just draw me back in again. Revisiting the past... Big Ten Victory= BACKWARD HATS, yea baby. (I'm not in this shot. I was one more person to the left.)

Music in the background: Mark Wills- 19 Something
Stress level of the Day: 2/10

2005-09-07 :: When does it end Wednesday ::

Ok, since Wednesdays are my longest I have a lot to tell everyone =] Here we go...
got to bed about 1am and woke up at 6am to get ready for my MET class (insert normal routine here) I drove to campus to make the final trek to the physics building, I usually park by my old apt and walk from there. This morning I happened to run into someone I knew. It was Mike Cyb from marching band last year. I asked him if he lived off campus now and he said yes he was living in Theta Tau's house. I knew he was pledging but I never figured him for the fraternity type. He's too quiet. Anyhow, so now I'm in 141 lecture and we're going over atom crystallization figurations, and I could have sworn that the teacher said that Iron was a Face Centered Cubic orientation. I swear that's what she said. I was following along in my notes (becuase I read ahead, like a good student) and my notes said it was a Body Centered Cubic. Anyhow, I can totally tell this is a freshmen lecture because they are all so freakin' rude. The teacher wanted to show us a video, so the students started putting away their books and notebooks, well just notebooks because most dont bring the book to class. Oh well, they'll hopefully learn manners soon.
So now I'm off to work to clean garbage from the HS football and soccer games. First, I picked up 2 gatorades though. So garbage took an hour then off to the elementary school for more mulch, yea! Then I noticed the trash at the tennis courts was over flowing the cans, so I picked up 4 maggot filled, bee swarmed bags of trash there. Yes, it was gross. Last bag, and I run into Dave my boss and Cody and now they want us to clear the low branches and brush from the "mini forest" behind the school. It's funny how kids can suddenly become nature activists. Though they run past the trees everyday racing everyone else to the playground. Now that we're doing something to them, they said we are "killing mother nature" because we were cutting off branches from trees. Mind you, most of them were already dead. For three lunch periods, we were quite the specticle. whatever haha...
Next, off to 375 lecture where I found out we had to turn in the assignments that were supposed to be practice. So I took some educated guesses on the problems I had not finished. After lecture, I head downstairs to find Danny to see where 402 lecture was. He reminded me that lab was meeting at 330 in the hangar (which we were told last friday). I was like, it isnt 330??? No it's 230 our regular meeting time. Then it dawned on me and I slumped my shoulders and closed my eyes. All I could say was I was so tired, and I really am. Anyhow 402 was boring we observed another lab for safety and organization, and discussed how we can improve the operation. And finally the end of my night with welding. I did really good today. I think it was the new tip that did it. I was doing butt welds and a lap weld. Then I tried doing pipe welds for the first time. I did about 5 that were nopt so good. So I walked away for 5 minutes and had some water and stood in from of the air onditioner. When I can back I did 2 desent welds.

Music in the background: Gary Allan- Best I Ever Had
Stress level of the Day: 2/10 too tired for stress

2005-09-07 :: Let's play a game!! ::

Let's play... Find the airplanes!! =]


Music in the background: shhhh, Lorraine is sleeping
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

2005-09-06 :: Throw in the towel ::

Have you ever had that feeling where you keep waiting for something to go right? I have had problems with my computer for so long, it is making me think maybe I should throw it out and just not own a computer. My first problem came when I upgraded to XP from ME back in 2004. XP crashed my system and was not compatible with my video card. So that summer I upgraded my computer with a new motherboard, memory card, video card, power supply.. da da da... I mailed my computer home back in May of this year and the post office decided a box with a picture of a computer on the outside wasn't fragile and dropped it at will. So yes, they broke it and I didnt have insurance on it. Anyway, I tried to fix it this summer and couldn't, so I had some professionals look at it. They told my mom it was fixed and charged me like $250 for the service. UPS delievered it today and I hooked it up when I got home from my classes so we can set up our cable internet. When I started my computer up, none of the fans started, um oops hello! So I opened up the side panels and connected my 3 fans. Started it again, and it hung on the XP splash screen, so cursing I restarted it again. I have a whole bunch of software things to be downloaded but no prob I'll have internet and I'll get it from the site, right. Sure, I'll just install the software for the wireless router and the cable modem... But wait a minute! MY CD DRIVES AREN'T SHOWING! Now I want to know, why as a technician you would sign off on a computer saying it is running correct now without checking the drives?! Thats like an airplane mechanic signing off on an airplane saying it's airworthy just because the engine runs right... YOU JUST DON'T DO THAT. Now I know an airplane is a little more deadly than an a computer, but as a college student, my computer is my life. I NEED IT! Now, I have to find time in my hectic schedule to trouble shoot this. And believe me if I have to buy anything to resolve this problem, Fry's will be footing the bill. When I talked to my mom about why they didn't check this out she said they didnt have my password to log into Windows. Hello, like I wouldn't have given it to them if they asked. I want my fuckin computer fixed.

Music in the background: Jason Aldean- Hicktown
Stress level of the Day: 9/10

2005-09-06 :: out of the office ::

Yes, so my computer is now sitting back in my bedroom at the apt, but I'm sitting at a computer in the computer lab between classes. grr. I'm not motivated enough to be studying for my next set of quizzes. Id rather just chill. I have to finish assignment #1 for 375 tomorrow, I believe. I will probably spend most of the night staring at an excel sheet mapping out formulas for the calculation we did this morning in lab. Well, first I guess I have to set up the cable internet.. haha. For now, I'm stuck here until 520 pm =/ Oh geez, I just remembered!! Now that I have my computer, I can upload my pictures from my camera!! Woohoo, I'm gonna go take some more pics then! =)

Music in the background: the a.c. gurgle in the computer lab
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

2005-09-06 :: Waiting at the door ::

I have two doors that enter into my apt. One goes out to the "porch" which is a slab of concrete right off of the parking lot. It has a full length window I guess you would call it, so I can see out into the parking lot =) The second door is actually the front door but it's tucked around and underneath the stairs that go to the apt upstairs (yes you could have figured that out yourself). Anyhoo-- So I have a front row seat to the parking lot and I'm waiting as patiently as I can for my computer. I have to leave for a class in about 20 minutes so hopefully it gets here before then. Lorrainse is here, but she's sleeping because she feels a little under the weather. So I have Turbine Engines II lecture for an hour and an hour break before my Airmen A&P class. I don't know how late UPS delivers.
Other than my computer... work called, I get to go clean up after the HS football and soccer game- how exciting. I started my 375 homework- converting from binary to hex to octal and back is sooo fun, NOT! ::looks out the window to the parking lot... taps foot:: My lab this morning was all calculations, and nothing like having to work through formulas to get your answer. It was all just plug and chug work for the F 109 thrust calculations. It involved so may measured data points from with in the fan flow and core flow, and even a whole slew of constants that I never had heard of before. And what's up with Rankine? Who the hell was Rankine? What happened to Kelvin??? I never new so many calcualtions went into just the thrust of an engine. Enthalpy... don't even get me started... Can I just go run the engine again =)

DOORBELL!!!
Here's the door!

Music in the background: Alan Jackson - The Talkin' Song Repair Blues
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

2005-09-05 :: Broken Links ::

Bah, well my cable and internet are working at the moment (obviously) but now the damn website to access my quizzes is down or broken, who knows. So I decided to go by a few groceries. Then I ended up washing the kitchen floor, and the website still isn't working. Maybe I'll go make some jello or something. Or maybe I'll finish reading my book. I only have 100 pages or so left in Manifold Time and then I will have finished his Manifold Trilogy. Which ironically, the three stories have no link in story line, only characters. I have two more waiting in the wings, Evolution and Coalescent. Ah well, we'll see how the day goes.

It's a few hours since I wrote what is above. My website came back up and took my 3 next quizzes and got 50s on all three =) So I'm ecstatic. Now just 9 more to go, and my next set of three quizzes covers NDT (Non-destructive Testing), micrometers, ground handling, and fuels. Only 74 more from the 219 questions to go through until I can take these quizzes.

Music in the background: LNO
Stress level of the Day: 5/10

2005-09-04 :: Solitude Sunday ::

The internet and cable decided to randomly go on and off this afternoon. Luckily, I was not in the middle of one of my quizzes. I finished studying for my next battery of quizzes. I guess I'll face them in the morning. Lorraine left yesterday morning with her dad to fly to Iowa to visit family. By fly, I mean in her dad's plane. I think she'll be back tomorrow afternoon. So I've been camping on the couch in front of the tv and surfin the net on her computer because I am still wating for mine- which it should be here tuesday. I spent a little more time doodling with my journal. I messed with the layout and added a guestbook at the bottom, and maybe- just maybe I'm watching you right now. haha, all 1984. I remembered earlier that I also have two assignments "due" on Wednesday in 375. We aren't actually turning them in for a grade, but we will be going of the calculations in class so I may as well attempt them. Well, I think I'm going to pop a pizza in the oven for dinner =) night everyone.

Music in the background: ESPN theme song
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

:: Back :: Forward ::