Flight Line
We put the "O" in AOT

Tuesday, Nov. 01, 2005 :: tired and sick and working on an engine ::

You would never believe how many fittings and bolts have to be saftey wired on an F-109. We had started last lab and were still going through the lab today. I didnt get my tools out right away because I thought all we would need to do is safety wirw, but there were still some fittings that needed tightening and brackets that still had to be attached. So one guy had gone to get his tools from the other hangar, but I didn't know that so I got mine out quickily since mine are in the powerplant hangar. I laughed when I saw the other guy with his tool box. Anyhow, it's done now. Our teacher bought doughnuts for the lab, that was cool, I had a powdered doughnut. So all I have left is turbines lecture and I think we have quiz on thursday. I'm still a bit sick, but atleast my nose has shut off the faucet for the moment. Recieved a cool email today from the advisors' office. Mesa Airlines is going to be at the airport tonight for an informational session. This is the business I'm trying to apply for via airlineapps.com and got blocked because of a dumb survey... anyway, they email said it is mainly for AOT students (mechanics, like me!) yeyeah! So I need to go get some resume paper and look over my resume one last time before 630. Then I need to study for my turbines PW4000. It's a pretty cool engine. Off I go...

Music in the background: LNO
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Monday, Oct. 31, 2005 :: sick - ick ::

Bah! no stick welding tonight... I friggin' sick... sore throat, congestion, watery eyes, snot factory. Now I get to sneeze on the cat, hahaha!

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

Monday, Oct. 31, 2005 :: Things of the Day ::

So I've only been up for 3.5 hours yet today, and I've already got cool stuff to talk about. First off, after my MET lecture I left the building through a side door to head over the Hovde Hall to turn in my time cards for work. As I exited the building, I heard the Mortal Kombat theme... I'm pretty sure everyone around the world knows that video game- if not lookit up =P Being that I had just gotten out of my 730 lecture... where all we did was watch a video on copper extraction... I wasn't my wide eyed bushy tailed self. I didn't think to turn to see why the Mortal Kombat theme was playing. After I heard people giggling I finally thought to turn around and look. There I saw a student in a mortal kombat halloween costume... I presume to be Sub-Zero or Scorpion... he had his back to me and damnit it all I didn't have my camera on me. By the time I got back from turning in my time card, he was gone.... Guess he had lecture inside the physics building after me.

When I got back to my car, I remembered that I had already done my prelab exercise for this week last week! yea! So I decided I would run to the market to pick up some bread and balogna for sandwiches. Which reminds me of a thought I had last night before I went to bed. Yesterday I spent most of my time working on homework and going to the refridgerator for something to eat... each time coming back empty handed because there was nothing I was intereested in. How spoiled am I? There are probably people in this town that don't even have a gallon of milk or loaf of bread in the refridgerator, and I'm pissy because we dont have any broccoli or grapes. I still have boxes of mac n cheese, instant potatoes or rice, soup, stuffing (yum).... plently of food. I just need to stop being so darn picky and eat what I have and be thankful...

So anyway, I went to the market. The gas (petrol) price now is $2.43 there- $2.33 if you have a membership. One of Lorraine's friends said that it is under $2 in Ohio, suuure whatever... it's still close to $3 in Arizona. I don;t know how much I'd trust his information, heh.

Also while in Marsh's Market... I saw Candycanes- holy crap!

The trees along the wabash valley are just starting to tint yellow... a week later than all the other trees... Will have to keep my eyes open across te bridge so I can get a good pic of the colors.

Now I'm off to do a little research on stick welding...

Music in the background: She's Somebody's Hero
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Sunday, Oct. 30, 2005 :: Just Stuff ::

It's funny, as I read through responses to my survey. Some people just think it is really strange... Hello, it's not a telemarker survey about pop. Would you rather it to be more like: whats your favorite book? Who's your favorite actress? What's your favorite position? No thanks. I can read the other eight hundred surveys like that. It is the more out there questions that help you learn more about people. I don't care if the questions are answered truthfully or not.. I'm not asking whether or not you've cheated on your significant other... I want to laugh, to see other points of view... see how different perspectives view my questions... I mean the survey description even read: Questions are for fun answers. Please do not take anything too seriously. It's not a lie dectector test- just enjoy like the others who have taken it =)


So anyhow, the boa massacre has been vacuumed up and dumped in the trash. I brushed the cat today- he's not a big fan of it. I had to scruff him to get him to stay. And the cat had a "bathroom" issue and wiped some, ah stuff along the walls and on the counter top... stinky! So more cleaning... Now he's just chillin on the couch arm next to me, almost asleep. Now, Monday is too close for comfort. Hopefully I remember to turn in my time card tomorrow =)
The Bears won in over time today... at least someone from Purdue is winning, haha.I saw House of a 1000 Corpses... It's pretty twisted. If you can't stand gruesome scenes, I wouldn't recommend it. Tomorrow I stick weld.

Music in the background: LNO
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Saturday, Oct. 29, 2005 :: Boilers, Batteries, Boas, Bachelors ::

Boilers...
Ah, Saturdays... Football, which I used to enjoy watching, but our present 6 game losing streak is not easy to swallow. Yes, we at Purdue are/have been spoiled with our 8 consecutive bowl trips, sigh. Atleast I haven't had to spend 8 hours of my saturday preparing and participating in game day rituals (marching band fyi) only to have to trudge home past the very inebriated boiler fans who try to get you to come join the party while you're still in your sweaty band uniform. The talking heads are now calling us the Spoilermakers... I guess it fits.

Batteries...
I can't seem to keep them charged around here. I bought new batteries for my digital camera last week, and of course I left my camera plugged in after loading the puppy pictures in last night and it stayed on all night. I heard the computer annuniciator for unplugged hardware and I knew right away it was my camera. And just a few seconds ago, I was sitting down here to write in my journal and my cell phone beeped at me because its batteries were low, sheesh.

Boa...
It is totally destroyed now. And I just felt like putting another pic of its massacre on here.


Bachelors...
Yes, graduation is quickly starting to approach. I got the idea to instead of pay $60 for announcements, I would rather design my own and see how much it would be to print up at Kinkos or something. So here are the cover pictures I have worked on so far...







I chose the Boeing 737 because that is the plane we mostly work on at Purdue. Feel free to leave me a note about my pics!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 2/10

Friday, Oct. 28, 2005 :: feather crazy ::

so Lorraine went into her room earlier tonight and had a sudden laugh attack that lasted several minutes. It was all because of Olive her new puppy. Lorraine left her closet open and Olive get in it a pulled out her feather boa. And I guess when Lorraine walked in and saw her, she gave Lorraine the "I didn't do it" look. Though she had bright red feathers sitting out of her mouth, hmmm...



More fall pictures



The living post boa massacre


Caught red feathered

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

:: Back :: Forward ::