Flight Line
We put the "O" in AOT

Monday, Nov. 07, 2005 :: More Stuff ::

I rocked the digital/analog converter lab today on the first try! Woot. Lecture for that class was cancelled today, so I ran out to the market with the $5 in my bank account and bought some bread, cheese, and balogna for $3.94 the funny thing is by buying the brands the store had on sale or company brand... I saved $3.48- WTF? They can charge us double? There's that and now gas is down to $2.15 with a discount it's $2.05- funny how we all think thats so great now, but really it isn't. Umm, MET lab should be quick... it's supposed to be a continuation of last week, and I'm already done just have to staple it together. I'll probably be home early, and I'm not welding tonight because the professor is in Holland. Guess I can study for my 375 test...
Randomness: I have been Pepsi free for 4 days

Music in the background: GNR- Civil War
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Monday, Nov. 07, 2005 :: when life gives you apples ::

The cat went back to the animal shelter yesterday. It was strange this morning to wake up and not have an animal follow me to the bathroom. Though I did sleep better last night, perhaps because I'm not worried about rolling over on the cat or kicking it off the bed. I finished off my last bagel yesterday, so I have no more breakfast foods. I'm eating applesauce for breakfast today and will probably have soup for lunch. Pay day is Wednesday, though most of it will be going towards my fees for the written tests. I had originally had that money saved, but then I had to buy a suit for interviews and the job fair (rolls eyes) I hate suits. I like being a mechanic for the fact that I won't wear suits to work... Though it seems a lot of A&P Purdue Graduates that hire in as mechanics normally move up quickly into engineering positions. Ah well, off to my avoinics lab.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Saturday, Nov. 05, 2005 :: The end of the day ::

So I got through 9 quizzes total tonight and the next set of quizzes is on magnetos and ignitions systems, sigh. I suppose magnetos aren't that bad. I just had a bad experience in lab, so I'm not favorable of them. And it wasn't really the magnetos fault, lol. My lab partner and I just had the misfortune of getting the "dead" or "broken" magentos. On a positive note, Purdue finally won a BigTen game this year. I was pretty lazy today, I lounged on the couch for a good percentage of the day sleeping and studying. I can sleep better on the couch than I can on my bed... I did get out and walk the dog twice today, so I wasn't sitting on my ass all day, haha. Tomorrow's another day.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Saturday, Nov. 05, 2005 :: six weeks ::

Six freakin weeks, and I will be done with school. It hardly seems possible. Am I really ready for the real world? Job hunting right now seems simple just resumes and some easily places words in a cover and I'm in for an interview, but the interview is a whole new world. I can't hide behind a piece of paper there. I can't tell you how many times thursday I was asked "What do you want to do?" Gawd I dont know I have been in school for 6 years, I want to work, get a job ya know, learn some real maintenance practices. I know they have certain positions they are looking to fill, but I don't want to limit myself or count myself out of a job. Who says you cant tweek a few of my interests and have me fill in your wanted spot, ggrr. Well for now I will fill in applications and make some calls. The rest I will deal with when it happens.
For now, I'm shuffling through the cabinets for lunch. I finally decided to make myself some chicken flavored stuffing, yum. I think I will either have soup or spaghetti for dinner. I have been ignoring the cat so far today, I mean I gave him food and water and all, but he doesnt get to sit by me or go in either of the bedrooms, so he's laying in the corner behind the couch. I have also got one set of three quizzes done today. The plan is to do 3 more sets (9 more quizzes), write up MET lab, and set up my Digital to Analog converter for lab monday, oh and a boilermaker win would be nice as well. Sigh, back to studying I suppose.

Music in the background: rock rhythms part 2 (Hey!)
Stress level of the Day: 5/10

Friday, Nov. 04, 2005 :: cats ::

Okay this cat has a serious problem... The first night we brought him home he pissed on the couch. Ok, first night jitters whatever. Then he pissed on a few of my bath towels I had on my bedroom floor, yea ok I can throw those in the washing machine no biggie... But tonight, was the final straw. In the four hours I have been home from class he has managed to piss on MY BED twice, and I've been in here most of the time. I am sorry, my pateince has run out... and thats hard to do, I'm pretty mello. I scruffed the cat and pushed his nose into his own piss and asked him "what did you do?" yeah i know he wont understand the words, but the tone of voice was different. Then I threw him out of my room and he scurried off into the livingroom. Now I'm washing my fitted sheet and fleece blanket... he ran into the bathroom when I came out into the livingroom and that now where he is because I shut the door... Toby will be going back to the animal shelter tomorrow. I miss my cat, Anakin.

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

Friday, Nov. 04, 2005 :: plane, trains, but no automobiles ::

Yes, friday is over- class anyway... We finished watching the pbs show on string theory. Then in 402 lab my technicians were assigned to take off the flap access panels off and lube the tracks again. So first at the beginning of lab we have to move the smaller aircrafts back into the hangar. The Michigan State football team had already arrived at the airport and were exiting their DC-9 American Airlines Charter Flight. Will we (boilermakers) win, probably not.
We got to work, well they did... I play a supervisor, I get to stand around and watch. For some reason there was an insurgance of warriors(picture is one of Purdue's actual planes) taking off. Probably new pilots wanting to get the last flight done in good weather. Then a Bonanza (aka V-tailed doctor killer) queued up for a take off. So now Lorraine and I are going to go get dinner ready.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Friday, Nov. 04, 2005 :: Insineratehymn ::

Out of randomness, I had forgotten about this, but I found the sticker to Deicide's Insineratehymn album that my ex boyfriend had stuck on my visor mirror. Oh relicks of the past that like to pop up and haunt you.
Anyhow, I got to rake thousands and thousands of leaves at work. Raking and shoveling them into the lunch box truck to take to the soilmakers business. I had to jump into the truck and pack down the leaves to actually fit the three huge piles we had collected. It was pretty fun being up to your chest in a huge pile of leaves. I didnt have breakfast today because I thought I didnt have anything to eat for breakfast, but while at work I remembered I had left over mac n cheese from dinner, so I left a little earlier so I get bet a bite to eat.

Music in the background: TV
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Thursday, Nov. 03, 2005 :: career fair ::

It's gorgeous day outside. The blue sky is decorated with a light frosting of thin whipped clouds. The trees burn of red, orange and gold leaves. The ground, still damp from the last night showers, is also accented with spots of golden leaves as they're tossed across the ground by the gentle touch of an autumn breeze.
Yep, so that's my attempt of descriptive writing. Anyway, today was the AT Career/Job Fair. I found quite a few companies hurting for A&P mechanics. TIMCO is still very interested in hiring me once I graduate. I also got applications from Bell Helicopter and Skyway Airlines, out of Milwuakee, ha noo... I started talking to UPS to see if they were hiring any mechanics, but they said they were recruitng for more pilots. Professor Thom then walks up with his school business card and says' "If you don't hire this girl, you don't deserve her." Ha, the recruiter notice as soon as I spotted Professor Thom that I started blushing. He also walked back over with me and put in a good word with me for Boeing and Lockheed Martin. He still thinks I should get into military applications. I probably handed out a dozen resumes. Pratt & Whitney were very interested in an A&P December graduate. One guy "extended his hand further for a handshake" if ya know what I mean. Three or four companies told me to expect a phone call to arrange meetings or interviews.
So really, things are looking good in the aviation field. A lot of the baby boomers are starting to retire and will need to be replaced. So I'm kinda of hestitant to send in/post any resumes until I actually have my A&P certificate in my hand.
After the career fair and my turbines quiz from hell. I came back to the apartment to change back into school clothes and feed Toby. 402 lecture was basically the same people I had just talked to in the career fair giving us some words of advice for job hunting 1. persistance and 2. attitude was what I came away with. Anyhow after that wasted hour, I decided I needed a pop and drove to a local gas station to buy a Pepsi. Now I was still in my school clothes... but I was too lazy and had not taken off the make up I put on today. The station attendant/cashier was trying to flirt with me, ha. I had my Purdue swearshirt on and he asked "do you work at Purdue?" I kind of gave him that "are you kidding" look and he responded with "or a student?" So I was kind and said "yes, I'm a lab attendant and a student" paid for my pop and left.
For those who care, i posted my pic on my profile...

Music in the background: LNO
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Wednesday, Nov. 02, 2005 :: welding women ::

So I did stick welding tonight. Not for very long though... It definitely didn't interest me. It splattered metal everywhere and smoked like 10 sparklers. And even the electrode/rod looks like a huge ass sparkler. I basically only ran welds... didnt weld anything together. I'll put pics up when I have some. Lorraine went back to TIG aluminum welding. But we ran out of our inert gas. I said I had enough of stinck welding. I will probably never do it again in my life, so Lorraine and I came back home early and each had a cider, yum. Tomorrow is the "Career Fair" where a very small portion of the aviation companies will be here recruiting- around 20 or so. Prof Sterk said he wanted to take a picture of Lorraine and me in our suits "all dolled up" because he always sees us in our grubby welding clothes, and then he wants to take a picture of us after welding when we're all dirt smudged and frame them, haha. Maybe he'll hang them next to the hovercraft picture.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Wednesday, Nov. 02, 2005 :: GNR RULES ::

If I believed in fate, I would have to say it was in favor of me today just now. I've been sick and bummin around. Then today my CD player in my car starting skipping, so I switched on the radio which I rarely listen to because they play the same 25 songs repetedly. Well, after my 402 lab today, I printed off my resumes in Prof Hagowski's office and left to go back to the apartment. I still had the country station tuned in from the last time I listened to the radio eons ago, but I changed it to the local rock station (93.5 FM) and started driving. The first song on after the few minutes of commercials?? Knockin' on Heaven's Door!! Lemme say I turned the radio up 10 clicks and drove the sort 3 minute drive back to the apartment (flat, ha). The song totally put me in the mood for welding tonight!

Music in the background: Tijuana Jail - Gilby Clarke
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Wednesday, Nov. 02, 2005 :: need drugs ::

My cold is still battling for ground in my head, so I went to the drug store to get some dayquil so I can try to return to normal today. Onyl I could only find nitequil and some tylonal cough medication. I'm like "whiskey tango foxtrot, where's the dayquil?" All I could find was the liquicap form... so I got that and some other items I needed. I decided then to go to the market because I couldnt find the toiletpaper at the drug store until after I had paid and was almost out the door! In the pharmacy section, I started looking for dayquil there... none and not even the off-brand stor name kind! WTF! So I'm like okay I need some type of liquid to kick start my counter attack. I started looking through the little tags and the sinus/cold medications. Low and behold there is the off-brand dayquil. So I guss its been awhile since I was sick and needed to by dayquil because I don't remember ever having to go to the pharmacy counter to be able to by over the counter (OTC) drugs AND having to fill out a form... Oh well, I've got it I suppose.

The CD player in Noelle is skipping like mad. I guess it needs to be cleaned. I don't think I've cleaned it since I had it installed uumm 3 years ago, heh. Bad Me!

Music in the background: I can't hear anything right now
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

:: Back :: Forward ::