Flight Line
We put the "O" in AOT

Sunday, Nov. 13, 2005 :: nothing weekend ::

hm, I was very lazy this weekend. I did no homework yesterday and I'm trying to play catch up today and not being very successful. I want to finish to electronic homeworks and start studying for my two tests this week. So obviously I'm not going to write very much now. I'm going to go do my homework like a good girl and then go watch grey's anatomy at 10 or 11 don;t know which time do to the daylights saving stupid time shift.

Music in the background: Garbage- Why do you love me
Stress level of the Day: 5/10

Saturday, Nov. 12, 2005 :: Beautiful Saturday ::

Earlier this week I decided I was going to make it to the last home football game band concert at Slayter Center. I got Lorraine up and we took Olive out to go see the band as well. Not everyone my know this, but there is a pregame tradition called Breakfast Club for students. This includes many people dressing up in funny and some times origial customes and going to the bars to get wasted before the game starts. Lorraine and I saw many people dressed up on the way to Slayter. Our walk takes us right down the main strip of bars next to campus. I tried to take some inconspicuous pictures, others posed willingly. Some I couldnt get good pics unless I ran to catch up with them and it wasn't that impotant for me. Other than I saw (and didn't take pics of): Scooby Doo, Spiderman, Batman, Winnie the Pooh, lots of cowboys and cowgirls (?), beer bottles, lady bugs, pirates and so on. I got a really nice panoramic picture of the band on Slayter Stage and good pics of them while marching. The tenors joked around and said "You're still alive" - LOL band's not my life anymore guys... I'm getting out of that circle and really doing stuff in the real world. I saw Anne, my roommate for 2.5 years and her parents, and Nate Kinsey another section member who "graduated" last year and his parents. It's been another good day! I got some excercise walking all the way to Slater from my apartment and got to her the marching band. Brought back memories, but with four years under my belt, I don't really miss it. They added "COACH" to the end of the band chear because Bill Kisinger. lovingly called Coach for the last 5 years, is retiring after this season after 37 years of service. Ironically enough, it's the game against University of Illinois, his Alma Mater.

Music in the background: Hail Purdue
Stress level of the Day: 2/10

Friday, Nov. 11, 2005 :: and WEEEEEE ::

So today all around just rocked! I got up at 7 to get ready to go to work. At Cumberland, I did the normal morning walk around trash and mulch. Then I found Dan to ask what else I could do. He suggested I go back to HQ, get the truck, and start moving air filters to Burtsfield (another school we use for storage). I'm not too excited about this assignment, but I headed back to HQ to get the truck. On the way there, I saw our truck going the other direction, so yea- maybe I won't have to do that. Carolyn said yes the truck was gone, the silver van has a dead battery, and Dave has to go to a metting so I can't take his truck. So Carolyn and Dave suggest we start disassembling the parking lot/street sweeper. Cooool! I grabbed the Kennedy roll around and started taking off engine parts. It's all going to scrap so I'm planning on trying to keep the starter for myself, hehe. Robert came back to HQ and also started to help disassemble. This unit has some hydraulics to help move the brushes up and down, so we got some hydraulic oil on the ground, heh. Anyway we worked on that for 2.5 hours in the cold of the build's shadow. Afterwards I grabbed some lunch at taco bell and headed to the airport for class. I was early so I grabbed today newspaper off a desk in the classroom to do the daily cryptoquip. I thought I had turned off my phone when I put it in my bag this morning, but as I sat down, my phone beeped and chimed to tell me I had voice mail. I'm listening to my voice mail and there are two calls from Reid Blackwell and one from Paula Spears both from TIMCO. Reid introduced himself on the recording and said that he wanted to discuss employment at TIMCO after graduation. He called Wednesday night and Thursday morning and Paula had just called this morning. I'd been studying, so my phone was off, heh. So I called Paula first since she works at the Goodyear, AZ facility. She really didn't have anything to tell me. She just wanted to touch bases with me and see if and when I would be available. Reid on the other hand told me that TIMCO would be hiring me on with 4 years experience at $11.50 plus $2 for my A&P. After one year of employment at TIMCO I will be elgible for managerial positions. It is a direct hire offer so I will get insurance, 401K, sick leave, dental and eye... AND a $1000 signing bonus, woot! Not the greatest pay rate, but it was more than I was making last summer AND it's actual experience! Reid wanted to know if I was interested in signing, of course I said yes, but that I was also looking into a company that is visitng Purdue this up coming Tuesday and I wanted to see if they were hiring entry level A&Ps in Phoenix. Though I have been trying to talk to someone at that company for the last month and I can only get voice mail - which I do leave a message and my number, and have never got any type of response.
So then in class we went over our tests we took last night. We didn't have the sheets we filled out so we had to try to remember what we filled in. I think I only got four or five wrong! Double woot! now, I'm makin pizza... IT'S FRIDAY AND I HAVE A REASON TO PARTAY!

Music in the background: Just A Girl - No Doubt
Stress level of the Day: 2/10

Thursday, Nov. 10, 2005 :: Post 375 Test ::

It's done and over. Test 2 covering B737,757,767,777, Beechjet, Beechcraft, and Airbus (scarebus) 320 Engine and status indicating systems. Some people sitting around me laughed at all the bookmarks in my book. ((We could bookmark sections we wanted- it was an open book test)) Other people made their own outlines for the test, but you know there is no better resource for the answers than the book. I marked different color tags for aircrafts, systems, and diagrams. And HA! I found all the answers SUCKERS!! Neener Neener, hehehe. Now I'm makin some spaghetti for dinner. Lorraine invited my to come out wih her and a friend thats visiting (he graduated last May), but I don't really want to listen to drunken people scream-sing tonight.
Here are some more cool pics I took...

Music in the background: GNR- Welcome to the Jungle
Stress level of the Day: 1/10

Thursday, Nov. 10, 2005 :: my IQ ::

It seems to be that time of the semester, for tests. I have one today, one Tuesday and one Thursday- sigh. If I can make it through the one tongiht (avionics) i should be okay. The other two are Turbines and MET. Today in lab was brakes day! Bleeding brakes and installing brake pads. Plus a little wheel balancing and shimmy dampening. The class this year is going to get to taxi the tomahawk, instead the get to practice tie-downs, haha. I took an IQ test this morning at 7am, after my shower. I score in the 95th percentile or something. After I looked at the answer, I realized I had made some dumb mistakes. Figures for trying to make my brain work that early in the morning. More interesting was the description it gave of myself.

"You have a strong ability to process visual-spatial and mathematical information. These skills combined with your strengths in logic are what make you a Visual Mathematician. You're able to understand patterns visually and in numbers. That means your mind can create a mental picture for any problem. In addition to that skill, you possess an intelligence that allows you to apply math to that picture, too. That helps you manipulate multiple parts of the picture (or problem) to come up with a solution."
and
"You have many skills that are critical to success and problem-solving. Your talents help you understand the "big picture," which is partly why people may turn to you for direction � especially in the workplace. You flourish in environments where tasks are clearly defined, and you are a whiz at improving processes and making things more efficient. Your ability to detect patterns and your skills in math and logic, make it natural for you to come up with ideas and theories that simplify processes for everyone. Outside of work, Visual Mathematicians tend to do well at strategic activities like chess. It must be that ability to recognize patterns � both as they are and how they develop. Regardless of how you put your mind to use, you've got a great set of talents. You will be able to envision a clear path and calculate the risks, and more importantly, the rewards, of anything you take on." It said great jobs for me would be Chess player, City planner (perhaps that's why I like to play Sim City and Cleopatra so much), Astronomer,Physicists, Mathematician, Researcher.

You've got tons of strengths. It wouldn't surprise us if you: Can give practical application to abstract thought, Can predict patterns, Are resourceful & practical, Envision the "big picture". That last one was kind of funny because the teacher I assist in lab says the exact thing. Envision the big picture, I didn't think that was such a big deal- isn't that kind of simple?


Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 5/10

Wednesday, Nov. 09, 2005 :: nothing ::

Though I've been doing stuff all day, nothing really cool happened. Went to class and then to work. They still can't keep up with how fast we work. I did four jobs in under 2 hours. Reviewed for tomorrows avionics test tomorrow (UGH!) and 402 lab was okay, but it was COLD and windy outside today. I need to go prepare my book for tomorrows test.

ok, something funny just happened. I went to Staples to get sticky tags so I could bookmark my textbook and on the way back home I was on Columbia (which is a one way street) heading back towards campus. There was actually someone driving up this road in the wrong direction. Can you not figure you're going the wrong way when all the cars on the street are parking going the other direction... not to mention there is a white dashed line down the middle of the road... not yellow!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 6/10

Tuesday, Nov. 08, 2005 :: killin time ::

New survey, if you're interested... Click
I bored and don't want to study for my test on thursday- though I really need to!

Music in the background:
Stress level of the Day:

Tuesday, Nov. 08, 2005 :: following directions ::

The luck wasn't on our side today in lab. Today we started staging a F-109 to run. Staging= putting on the starter/generator, ignitor box, fuel lines, bell mouth, exhaust cone and some other stuff.
So we start out with engine 19 and we get the bell mouth on and the generator and ignitor box- starting to torque and saftey wire bolts. When one of the 12 students in lab goes "are those fan blades okay?" It turns out the last time the engine was run we think it ingested some rocks and did some sinificant damage to the fan blades. The teacher believes it is because of Budget Rent-a-Car. They have this "car wash" station right next to our running stalls. All it really is, is a high power pressure washer and they pull the car up to the maintenance garage, plug it in and wah away. We think the high pressure washer sprays the rocks over into our test stalls. So I told the teacher to send the bill for new fan blades to Budget then. Imagine the look on their faces when they get a bill for $600,000. hahahaha. So we swithced over to engine 21 and started all over again. The TA said I cold go ahead and put on the exhaust nozzle (the teacher said he wanted us to stage it today). So I went ahead and installed the 30+ bolts to hold on the exhaust nozzle. When I had all the bolt and nuts on, the teacher came up and said why do you have these longer bolts. I told him they were in the container for the exhaust cone. He said that I forgot to put in the exhaust cone and flanges, and I replied that the TA just told me to put on the exhaust cone. So he took us all aside to tell us that we had to follow the directions given to us in the book. He doesn't was to run an engine if it isn't staged correctly. Funny, I could remember telling the guys that we needed to follow the book when they started to install the ignitor box (that was like page 15) and if it had gone on fisrt we would have had real problems putting on the generator. Looks like it's about time for female organization in this lab, hehe. I can have this engine staged in under two hours =)

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Monday, Nov. 07, 2005 :: Things About Me ::

I got the infamous exitus interview email today. A graduating student with student loans is supposed to attend so they can tell you the requirements for paying back your loans, and of course I have class at all they times they offer it. So I will go stop by their office tomorrow and try to figure this one out. Otherwise it's been an okay day. I've decided to copy (because it's the biggest form of flattery) or I suppose that's actually imitation, but whatever. I'm going to copy the trend of other Dlanders and name off some interesting/ non-interesting things about me, ha. I doubt I could come up with 101 things thou, but I saw someone do 69- so that's what I'm shooting for...

ABOUT ME...



1. general, I have blond hair and blue eyes
2. I like math
3. I wanted to be an engineer
4. I took 3 semesters of calculus, differential equiations, and multivariable calculus before I switched majors
5. I like GNR a lot
6. I got that from my HS sweetheart (is that what I call him, no my "ex")
7. He also got me interested in cars and maintenance
8. and he got me addicted to tattooes
9. I have four tattooes
10. I dyes my hair blue once
11. I like blue
12. I'm fighting my Pepsi addiction, and winning
13. I've played the saxophone for 12 years
14. I has a crush on a senior trumpet player my freshman year in HS
15. I also had a crush on a sophomore trombone player (who became my "ex" from no 6)
16. I have overhauled an engine
17. I have disassembled and reassembled three turbine engines
18. I have oxyactylene, TIG, stick, and Mig welded
19. I have big feet =P
20. I buy guy shoes because I can't find my size in women's shoes
21. I have had bad luck when it comes to computers, they choose to not work around me... I say it's computer trolls
22. I taught myself how to swim
23. I have never seen the movie Titanic, and I have no desire to do so
24. I don't like to shop unless it's for tools or gizmos
26. I make "heavenly" cinnamin coffee cake
27. I act shy around people my own age
28. I am very social with people older than myself
29. I cannot talk cute to babies and animals, I feel dumb
30. I want to have a pet snake and lizard
31. I went to a community college for two years before I went to a four year college
32. The government paid for those two years
33. A whole $600 a semester
34. I am a Law and Order junkie
35. I like to consider myself artistic
36. I've never broken any of my bones
37. The most advanced video game system I own is a Super Nintendo System
38. I haven't used it in atleast four years
39. I was addicted to EverQuest for a year
40. I had a 65 Shaman, 34 Druid, 32 Paladin, 26 Cleric, and 20 Enchanter.
41. I was also a guild leader
42. My current boyfriend introduced me to EQ
43. last summer he showed me Guild Wars
44. I had a level 20 Ranger by the time summer was over
45. I haven't played either game since I've been back at school, I don't have the time
46. I like Thanksgiving the best because it has good food and no religious affiliation
47. I hate conformity
48. I don't smoke
49. I have never used illegal drugs
50. I would like to own my own business
51. I bite my nails, it's a nervous habit
52. I think I got it from my mom
53. I don't have 20/20 eyesight, but I don't need glasses yet
54. I have problems reading red writing on white background
55. I took dance for eight years before taking up the saxophone
56. There are some jerks in my major I want to hit over the head with a crowbar
57. I'm not a violent person
58. I have the "patience of a Saint"
59. I love Australian accents
60. I want to go to Egypt
61. My favorite plane is the Boeing 747
62. I wish the cartoons from my childhood were still running (Cities of Gold, Thundercats, Sebastian & Bell)
63. I don't like chocolate
64. I want to rescue a greyhound when I get my own place
65. I can recite most of all the lines to the Indiana Jones movies
66. I've always been in awe of sharks. I wish I knew more about them... my favorite? hehe, the blue shark
67. I don't sing in the shower
68. Pizza is always better the next morning
69. I love cryptograms

Music in the background: LNO
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

:: Back :: Forward ::