Flight Line
We put the "O" in AOT

Wednesday, Dec. 07, 2005 :: Sc-airbus ::

Being that Purdue is on the top for aerospace technology and engineering, there is always a lot of industry talk going around. Let me tell you all, avoid airbus! Their newest addition the 380, though not actually in service yet, is said to be 25% composites. Now the US has been dabbling in composites ever since ford first used them in the soybean car back in 1941, so we've got some experience; however, France does not have this experience. Now their composite structure are weaking due to the UV exposure, which they did not account for and the high vibration applications that they also did not account for. I don't want to be flying around on a new aircraft with fatigue damage- and neither should you!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Wednesday, Dec. 07, 2005 :: Oldest Flight School in AZ ::

well, i got a call from chandler air service out in arizona. Not from an HR person or a head of maintenace- the Owner called me. He said they are very interested in talking to me and wanted to be sure I wanted a career in general aviation. He even said that thay have hired on their experienced A&P and are holding out on hiring their entry level A&P until they talk to me, wow! They really like that I am local- less likely to get home sick, haha. So a few jobs brewing now.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Wednesday, Dec. 07, 2005 :: the big bag ::

probably about a month ago I had a pic of "stuff" that was in my backpack and I mentioned taking a pic of my tool bag later and posting it. Well, here it is...

Hm, I can see GoJo hand cleaner, my two black plastic containers (top has punches in it and bottom has adapters/extentions/universal joints), tape measure, qrtr in sockets, handles to either my dykes or pliers, philips head screw drivers, safety glasses, half inch deep sockets, plastic mallet, ballpeen hammer, extra large flat head screw driver, combo wrenches, all sixteenths wrench, handles to channel locks. not pictured: MagLite, socket wrenches, ignition wrenches, more flat head screw drivers, feeler gauge, needle nose pliers, random spark plug, allen wrenches, qrtr deep sockets, and caliper. hahaha

Music in the background: marilyn manson- man you fear
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Tuesday, Dec. 06, 2005 :: Here's where you can stick your 3 addresses ::

Turbines lab was over in an hour today. So I went to vacuum out my car and I still had spare time so I decided to go hand deliver the Loan Paperwork to reverse my encumberence. I was unable to find any metered parking. I ended up parking in the 20 minute drop off zone. Of course there is no receptionist so I have to ring the damn bell and wait for someone to get off their ass. The lady looked at the paperwork and said that they needed a third separate address on the form. WFT? The form asks for Parents, Grandparents, and another relative. No where does it say the three addresses must be separate. So I asked if I could use their internet to try and find my only other relatives (my aunt and uncle) though from previous tries I know they're unlisted. No, I can't use their computerss, I have to go down to the main lobby. (time is tick tickin' away). So I'm pissed again at Purdue. Because I wasted my time to come to their office and they tell me I filled out the form wrong- even though the form doesn't stipulate that it needs three addresses. So screw them, I'm not wasting my time driving to campus again. They can get it through intraschool mail. 402 lab is cancelled for the rest of the week, we're done! yay! So all that's left is TAing Thursday's lab and maybe one more stint of welding wednesday night. =) I should start looking into school loan consolidations. and since I have already cleaned out my car, my next objective for preparing to leave is to unclutter the book shelf full of 4.5 years of college books, spirils, and binders... Maybe I'll totally clean it all up take a pic and then disassemble it so it can't become recluttered!

Music in the background: Garbage- Bleed Like Me
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Monday, Dec. 05, 2005 :: Good Things ::

#1 MET presentation delivered
#2 MET presentation grade 100%
#3 Finished with electronics lab
#4 Paperwork filled out to reverse encumbrance
#5 Full tank of gas bought at 1.99/gallon
#6 A&P Trivial Pursuit tonight, woohoo
#7 No classes on Friday, double woot

I decided that tomorrow I shall clean the inside of my car. Even though it's going to be 20 degrees and snowy tomorrow. She has to be clean when I sell her next week. I can't believe this is the last week of classes; it doesn't seem real. School ends for me at 530 on Thursday. Tonight I need to go finish the helicopter brackets. I will probably have to pull someone off a table so I can use an air hose.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Monday, Dec. 05, 2005 :: Encumber This ::

So Purdue has been entered onto my shit list once again (and for the very same reason mind you). The first situation came as I earned my associates degree here (big whohaha, I know). Upon recieving your degree, Purdue assumes you are fully graduated and will not be coming back. Yes, I pay $19K/yr to go to a college 1800 mi away from my family to get my associates degree and leave-dumb fucks. So Purdue requires you to go to an "exit interview". Which is not an interview by any means. It is a meeting they hold for students recieving a degree that have school loans. It's paperwork they have you sign to say you will pay back your loans - and wasn't that the purpose of the PROMISARY NOTE???? Anyway, they send out an email to students recieving a degree that was label "GRADUATING SENIOR EXIT INTERVIEWS". So the first time I recieved this I thought well I'm not graduating though I am a senior, and I was already signed up for classes for the following semester... meaning my loans wouldn't come due because I was still enrolled in school. NOOOO, not by Purdue's standards... I was getting a degree period, so they encumbered my record, and with an encumberance, your registered classes get dropped, and then you get a letter by mail stating your encumbered status. So the five classes I was enrolled in for my LAST SEMESTER were dropped. I cheerily made a trip to campus to talk to the collections office (again this is that fun scheduling thing where every office on campus is closed from 12-1 so everyone can go take their lunch, fuckers). Not to mention I can't park anywhere on campus unless I'm lucky enough to find an empty metered stall. Anyhow, I took care of that situation. So, this year I paid close attention waiting for that email again. Yes, it came about 3 weeks ago and I went to the collections office immediately to tell them that I could not attend their "interview" because I had class at all 4 session times- which I did. So I filled out a paper and the lady at the desk said my package would be mailed to me. I verified with her several times that my record would not be encumbered. She told me it wouldn't several times. Well low and behold in this weekend's mail was a letter from the Bursar's Office stating my record has been encumbered for the exit interview. I just got the packet in the mail Thursday...I just tried calling the office and the lady on the other end said that it would be taken off as soon as they got the packet back. I firmly told her that I talked with a lady in the office and she said my records would not be encumbered. I told her this twice and then she just put me on hold without even saying "can you hold a minute, please." Nothing! just straight to the music- and then I was disconnected.
So here's a big SCREW YOU PURDUE. You'll never get another dime outta me.

Music in the background: cradle of filth- damnation and a day
Stress level of the Day: 6/10

:: Back :: Forward ::