Flight Line
We put the "O" in AOT

Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2005 :: job time ::

I played phone tag with Rick from Chandler Air Service this morning. I called, he called, and I called back... I ended up driving out to Chandler Airport around 230 to talk to Rick. He gave me some non descirptive directions over the phone. He took along time too trying to avoid running into traffic. I just went to mapblast to get the general direction I needed to go because most of all the streets out here go forever. I also tried to call TIMCO's recruiting office, but no one answered the phone, so I left a message. The airport itself was a little confusing due to some road construction and vague signs. I found Chandler's Flight Office, but was a little confused as to where their maintenance hangar was, so I called the office again to verify I was at the right place. Once I found the hangar I wasn't sure where to enter, so I chose the only door that didn't say authorized personnel only. It lead right into the hangar, so I decided that wasn't the best place to enter without permission. I ended up walking back to the the Flight Office to get directions. They directed me to an office in the hangar where I would find Steve, the "parts" guy, and he could point me to Rick. So I met Rick, and he gave me the "low down" on the company history, all 26 years of it... and of the background of the other three mechanics working there. And yes, I'd would be the only female on the floor. Rick, is the maintenance foreman I guess you could say. He's not "the boss". Mr John Walkup is the boss. He doesn't work on Wed or Thurs because we works Sat and Sun, but during the hour and a half I talked to Rick, he said he would talk to Mr Walkup at their Christmas party tonight and call me tomorrow to talk about coming back Friday to talk to Mr Walkup. Rick kept introducing me as a prospective employee, but by the end of my hour and a half tour, it almost sounded like he wanted to put me to work Friday. As I was leaving, one of the mechanics I was introduced to and I can't remember his name at the moment, wished me a merry christmas and asked if I was coming to their christmas party tonight. I told him that I was not invited, and he told me to wait one minute. I think he as going to ask RIck if I could come and then thought better of it since he had only been there a vouple months and didn't want to put Rick on the spot. He asked if I knew where it was and started to look through his tool box for the map to where ever it was being held. He could only find warrior diagrams though, haha. He said he could bring a guest, and I told him that he was sweet to invite me, but I really wouldn't know anyone and wouldn't want to intrude on the party scene by talking jobs. I told him I would be back Friday to talk to Mr Walkup. I left Chandler Air at 430, the start of rush hour. And even though I drove 55 mph, I still had people riding my ass and passing me all in a hurry. I ended up inventing a new word to call people, "Jackwad". Yup it rocks! So now the plan is to get ahold of the TIMCO people tomorrow...

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 3/10

Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2005 :: a note from the past ::

So, what to write about on my second day back in Arizona. I left me cell phone and wallet in my mother's car after we got home from the airport (PHX) Monday night. So I had no money to do anything yesterday. And I missed a call from Chandler Air Service. They wanted me to come out yesterday afternoon. The owner is going to be out of town for the next few days. Oh well, nothing I can do about that but call them back and wait.


Something a little similar to Smash's entry, I found a note from one of my english teachers in "my room". I believe it was in 8th grade. Though I didn't spent my class time oogling at girls (LOL), I thought I'd still share his words...
Krissallae- Thanks for virtually carrying 4th hour on your shoulders. So few of them contributed anything this year. It is obvious to me that you will go on to be a great credit to your family, our community, to yourself. I try very hard not to display favoritism to any particular students, but you are one of mine. You must make your parents very proud. No need to return to Lincoln, doesn't do much good to go back, stay on a steady course and college, career, family... all the good things will readily be yours. Good luck to you in your life... Never settle for 2nd best either, if the best is what you want, work for it, wait for it, fight for it, but don't ever settle... and you're a fighter... you'd make a pretty good executive. Best wishes at East and afterwards-- life is great! -Mr Shaffer


PS call it sentimental, but you were the only kid to hand out a valentine. I taped it to my grade book all spring to remind me how kind some people can be...


Yes, I was 14 and still gave out the valentines, whats it to ya- ya wanna fight about it? LOL Anyway, I gots stuff I need to get done today. Mom already called to check up and see if I've done anything yet...

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 2/10

Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2005 :: I'm DONE! ::

oh gawd, Im finally done. I never thought graduation week could get so stressful. I was actually still taking my A&P oral and practicals up until about an hour and a half before I graduated. I passed it though. 25 hours, WTF?! The FAA really needs to rethink over their testing requirements, or my examiner really needs to look over his objectives again. I was the guinnea pig for the first run through his new test. My mom and grandma ended up packing all of my stuff while I was testing. I never got to show them around the airport, where I've spent the last 3.5 years of my life taking classes and I dont think they ever plan on going back to Indiana again. So now I'm hanging out back at home in Mesa, AZ. If home is what I can call it. I've bearly spent at the most a month of time in this house. Today, I'm relaxing. Grandma is in Chicago and Mom is at work until 5pm. We shipped a lot of stuff back here. Probably spent around $400. Oh well less stressful than having to drive it back I suppose. Hm, what mindless stuff can I do to pass the time... quizzes! woo fun..





You Have a Melancholic Temperament



Introspective and reflective, you think about everything and anything.You are a soft-hearted daydreamer. You long for your ideal life.You love silence and solitude. Everyday life is usually too chaotic for you. Given enough time alone, it's easy for you to find inner peace. You tend to be spiritual, having found your own meaning of life. Wise and patient, you can help people through difficult times. At your worst, you brood and sulk. Your negative thoughts can trap you. You are reserved and withdrawn. This makes it hard to connect to others. You tend to over think small things, making decisions difficult.

What Temperment Are You?




Your Brain's Pattern



Structured and organized, you have a knack for thinking clearly. You are very logical - and you don't let your thoughts get polluted with emotions. And while your thoughts are pretty serious, they're anything from boring. It's minds like yours that have built the great cities of the world!

What Pattern Is Your Brain?




You Are 90% Boyish and 10% Girlish


You have a tough exterior - and usually a tough interior to match it. You're no nonsense, logical, and very assertive. Sometimes you can't understand women at all, even if you're a woman yourself. You see things rationally, and don't like to let your emotions get the best of you.

How Boyish or Girlish Are You?




You Are a Freedom Rocker!



You're stuck in the 70s - for better or worse Crazy hair, pot soaked clothes, and tons of groupies our kind showed the world how to rock. Is that freedom rock?... Well turn it up man!

What Kind of Rocker Are You?




In a Past Life...



You Were: An Evil Despot.



Where You Lived: Spain.



How You Died: Killed in Battle.

Who Were You In a Past Life?




You Are Pecan Pie Soda



Sweet, but totally nuts


What Jones Holiday Soda Are You?

Music in the background: nothin
Stress level of the Day: 2/10

Friday, Dec. 16, 2005 :: testing still ::

I heart forty thousandths safety wire- no not really. I did a bunch of stuff today. More paperwork and FAR stuff. Turnbuckle safety wiring, oh yeah! Cable inspection, down and dirty! Hydraulic fittings and torque. Math stuff lots of more oral questions. I probably could have finished today, but the professor had to leave to pick someone up. I have one more final to go. Tomorrow I think I can exect to do some sheet metal bending and riveting, woohoo! which reminds me i should put my square in my tool bag and some sharpies!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Thursday, Dec. 15, 2005 :: test taker ::

ok, I've had a 3 hour nap. I feel less pain =) It slowly dwells in the back of my head though. So my day today, let's see...
Lucky for me, my professor that had my completion certificate came to school early today. So I got my certificate and went to take my writtens at 7am. The lady at the counter was new so I didnt get in right away. Anyhow, you all have already seen my results posted in the previous entry. Afterwards, I came back to freshen up on some oral questions until 1130 and then headed out to the airport. I started off trying to "prove" why installing propellers/governors, etc that are in the TCDS (type certificate data sheet) is a minor repair and not a major repair or preventative maintenance. We covered a few oral questions on FARs and electrical stuff. Then I got to start my first project- electrical troubleshooting for the port side nav light and rotating beaon. I found the wire to the port side beacon that he had disconnected pretty easily, haha. I just have to verify that this was correct with a voltmeter showing that power was on this wire during switch operation. On to the rotating beacon. I started towards the rear of the plane because I figured by looking at the schematic that that area had so potential for crossed misconnected wires. I ended up actaully finding another wire that was disconnected right at the switch. It was probably pulled out accidentally during the aileron rigging labs. Anyhow, so since I found that, the rotating beacon part is going to be moved back to the next A&P wannabe he is examining, Garmin- hehehe. We covered some other oral questions on APUs, welding, fire detection, and fabric covered aircraft. I don't have a FAA guy following me around thankfully, but someone else who is testing does and he was in the same hangar as I was so it almost seemed like he was watching me. And all these teachers kept coming around to talk to my examiner... it was a little stressful. I also had both the department head approach me again regarding my current status on job opportunities. They still want to get me into grad school here. My brain was so spent by the time we quit at 6. I ran to taco bell to get something to eat, thinking that might subside my headache. I went to the turbines lab which I hadn't studied for at all. Luckily one test was open book, so I should do ok on that. The second I recognized some of the questions, but the calculations for conversions and Hp... yeah that was definitely a guessing game. One answer I know though... engines do not produce 168,000,000 Hp... hahaha. Anyhow- I'm off to bed. Up again at 630 for another long day.

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: unable to compute

Thursday, Dec. 15, 2005 :: tests and tests and tests ::

gawd do i need a hug... and a backrub and footrub and while Im at it, let's go all out and get a nice hot bath as well. It's 730 and my brain has been crying mercy every since 5. I'm gonna eat my soggy nachos and go to bed!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 01010101010101010101010101

Thursday, Dec. 15, 2005 :: tests ::

Quick Update! Passed all three writtens. Airframe:88, Powerplant:93, General:93. Now I'm studying for tonight's 476 exam. 6 hours of oral/prcatical today and probaby 10 hours tomorrow! oh yea!

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

Wednesday, Dec. 14, 2005 :: winter weather? ::

Final number one=done. Second person to finish in just under an hour. Now I will study for 476 Turbines' 2 tests, and then I go back to campus for MET review... blah. I hate campus. The word at the test was "6 more inches of snow... snow all week" Well here's what the weather channel shows for the weekend (Fri-Sun).

Music in the background: none
Stress level of the Day: 4/10

:: Back :: Forward ::